BETTER DEAD THAN WED Reviews

Print
5-stars
About one in every 500+ readers writes a review
and I cherish every single one I receive.

Unfortunately, Amazon has a nasty habit of “cleaning house” on occasion and wiping out reviews for reasons unknown. They do it to anyone who sells a product on their site, not just writers. But oh, how it hurts. Writers live for their reader’s reviews.
It happened to me recently, and I lost several lovely, thoughtful reviews.

From now on,  I’m saving my reviews here.
Even the ones that panned my books. 

And if Amazon does it again, hopefully, I can dispute it.
Unless they remove a nasty review! Then I’ll do a happy dance!

horizontal-line




Coffeeholic Bookworm - save  copy - jpeg

 

 

bookwormCoffeebook Mom

Katy McKenna is back and is embroiled in a much tougher situation than she was in before. I thought she was getting good with her sleuthing skills but the number of times she was caught and almost caught by the authorities makes me think otherwise.

Katy begrudgingly joined a Jane Austen book club (where no one really was reading any if the author’s novels in my opinion), after her bestfriend Sam’s urging. (And the fact that she read Fifty Shades of Grey and NOT Pride and Prejudice). Soon, Katy and her club members had shared their stories about philandering spouses, abusive partners, suicidal tendencies, possible AIDS contraction, pedophile encounters and cheating was-band. Boy, was there a lot going on in their club. Shortly after their first meeting, an untimely death came upon their kin. And another… And another..

Until Katy’s ex husband Chad became the next almost victim. Dang it, if I were Katy, I wouldn’t give a damn about him, but as luck would have it, she was soon involved in a shooting and was even considered a person of interest. Why didn’t Chad die, that scumbag.

Then there’s an issue about not getting paid for a job she had painstakingly done. Oh and her sister dropped not only one but two bombs about her self and her past! Things were really getting out of hand and Katy seemed to have run out of luck!

Oh my! It’s been a year since I last read about Katy McKenna. I remember her getting involved with an ex-convict on parole, and she almost died in the process. And now that she’s been gobsmacked with a lot of issues and deaths, my head was reeling and imploding!

Pamela Dennis sure did captivate me with this new murder mysteries. It had me guessing and believe me, I had multiple suspects in mind, none of which even fared right when the real culprit was revealed. Now that’s a “who-dun-it” mystery i love to read in a book. I can’t wait to read what’s coming next for Katy! Hopefully her Viking would soon step up the game, hmm-mmm..

My rating: 

5cups

 

More reviews by Claire, the Coffeeholic Bookworm




amazon-reviews
on January 2, 2017
Very cute book. I enjoyed it.

4.0 out of 5 stars
Better Wed Than Dead
on December 31, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Cute, well-written cozy type murder mystery. A self-employed graphic artist/blogger life seems to turn into an episode of The Keystone Cops as every situation seems to go weird.

 
on December 30, 2016
Great story! Once I got through the first chapter or so I could not stop reading it! Many sleepless nights later I finished the book. I was sad for it to be over.
 
on December 23, 2016
I saw this book on a free book alert and since I recently read “Dead girls don’t blog” by this same author and enjoyed it; I wanted to give this one a try. The book was good and I think I might have enjoyed this one even more than the first book. I would recommend this book to others who like cozy or light mystery with lots of entertaining blunders and missteps by the lead character along the way.
on December 23, 2016
At first, I thought this was going to be a fun, frothy book. Then, it turned serious, bringing up challenging end-of-life questions. Good read.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Excellent

on December 17, 2016
Loved all the humor in this book. There were serious parts, but the humor got to me. The characters and story were great and the part with the dealership was so funny. Knowing that you did that yourself is a trip. You’re my new BFF. Lol
 
on November 27, 2016
Loved this book. Just as great as the first and can’t wait for the next!!
 
on November 24, 2016
Funny, light hearted read even though the subjects are not necessarily light hearted. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Katy, her Grandma Ruby and her friends. The story kept my interest throughout and kept me guessing as to the whodunit. I look forward to reading more by this author.
on August 10, 2016
Dead girls don’t blog was a great read!


 

on August 9, 2016
I loved this book!

on August 9, 2016
Enjoyed book. Would like to read more from this author


on August 9, 2016
Verry funny


on July 31, 2016
Charcters were exciting.


4.0 out of 5 stars

Four Stars
on July 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Good book!

on July 18, 2016
What a fun book! Can’t wait for next installment and the adventures .. especially Granny Ruby!


5.0 out of 5 stars

on July 15, 2016
This book was hard to put down. It was intriguing and I ignored the urge to flip to the end for a spoiker. The characters were well defined as well as loyal to each other. It was a pleasure to read their interactions with one another. Makes you wish for friends like that.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Five Stars
on July 13, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
good


5.0 out of 5 stars
Loved it

on June 28, 2016
Funny, lots of dear friends, a little suspense, some nasty human scum, and a kindhearted although sometimes soft-headed lead character. Not bad for a day’s read.


4.0 out of 5 stars
I liked it and am happy it is part of a series

on June 21, 2016
I enjoyed this book, a fun read, with engaging characters. It is well written, “shows ” you, not tells you. I will definitely read another one of this author’s books.

 

on June 13, 2016
kept me reading to the last page. so many moral dilemmas. lots of humorous interactions between characters. will read more by author


5.0 out of 5 stars
Loved it
on June 8, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It had all the necessary requirements, humor, sadness, everything. I really enjoyed her writing. Will be reading more of her books.

 
By Lin on June 8, 2016
Another good read by an author I didn’t know before. I will be looking forward to reading more of her books.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Wonderful writing!
on June 5, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Couldn’t put this book down. Wonderful writing!


4.0 out of 5 stars
A Pleasant Read

By Sarah on June 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Better Dead Than Wed is indeed an interesting and entertaining novel. I had thought at first that I had selected a mystery, but that proved not to be the case in the usual sense. This book entertainingly dealt with the woes of a woman who had been dumped by a
cad. She ended up liking the other woman and proved to be most helpful to her. There was a bit of murder in the book, but not the kind one normally expects. there is no sex and very little romance–definitely a plus. Some bad language does occur, but not enough to cause one to stop reading the book. The characterization was thorough enough to made the reader feel like he knew the protagonist. Also, the resolution was satisfactory. I recommend this book for a bit of mystery that is clearly not the expected.


By Freya06 on May 30 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase – Amazon CA
That was the craziest, funniest, wildest.book I’ve read in ages. What a ride! I look forward to reading more of this author’s books.


4.0 out of 5 stars
It gave a good idea of what true friends are and what some …
on May 30, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It gave a good idea of what true friends are and what some people do for justice.Of course, Katy still has all her problems with her dating life and her grandmother trying to set her up all the time.


5.0 out of 5 stars A great author with a great story!
May 29, 2016
Verified Purchase
This story has a little of ” everything” in it, just like life has. A book that will be saved to read again at some time later. I usually read books only once, only a select few are chosen for a second reading.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Loved this ‘episode’ of Katy’s life!
on May 4, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Better Dead Than Wed was another great book by Pamela Dennis. I loved the first and this second book with Katy let us meet her sister Emily, and watch them develop a relationship that was lacking. The story was well-written and kept me turning the pages to see how that book club would turn out. I wasn’t disappointed! I hope there is a third book in the works because I have to know what happens next.


on April 7, 2016
Entertaining and well written. Clean. I really enjoyed this book and promptly went to Amazon and purchased the next one in the series.


on March 14, 2016
Even better than the first book


Another thoroughly entertaining offering by Pamela Frost Dennis. Loved the twists and turns of the mystery, only enhanced by the humorous reflections, which make me eager for the next book in the series. Job welldone !


on September 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this author’s first book and definitely enjoyed this one also. She has done a wonderful job of combining humor and a good mystery that kept me reading from the first pages to see what could possibly happen next to her main character Katy and the other quirky characters in the book. I definitely will be watching for this author’s next one.


goodreads


Joni

Dec 31, 2016 Joni rated it really liked it
Better Wed Than DeadCute, well-written cozy type murder mystery. A self-employed graphic artist/blogger life seems to turn into an episode of The Keystone Cops as every situation seems to go weird.

Sharon

Dec 21, 2016 Sharon rated it it was amazing
This was an awesome read and it never got boring. There were times I didn’t want to stop reading. A great cozy book mystery.

Sandie

Sandie rated it it was amazing 
Jun 28, 2016


Marilyn

Jun 25, 2016 Marilyn rated it really liked it
Good
this book is one that makes you think about how much of life is real even tho most of this book is fiction.


hunter pynchon

Jun 21, 2016 hunter pynchon rated it really liked it
I liked it and am happy it is part of a series
I enjoyed this book, a fun read, with engaging characters. It is well written, “shows ” you, not tells you. I will definitely read another one of this author’s books.


Tere Fredericks

Jun 04, 2016 Tere Fredericks rated it it was amazing
I Don’t Know What I Was Expecting
I know this book is the furthest thing I would have imagined. Much much MUCH better than I could have hoped for. The interaction between all these marvelous characters is deftly told. Loved it!


Ann

Sep 22, 2015 Ann rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this author’s first book and definitely enjoyed this one also. She has done a wonderful job of combining humor and a good mystery that kept me reading from the first pages to see what could possibly happen next to her main character Katy and the other quirky characters in the book. I definitely will be watching for this author’s next one.



Kelly Stovall

Kelly Stovall rated it it was amazing 
Dec 27, 2016
Emily

Emily rated it liked it 
Dec 23, 2016

sandy brainard

sandy brainard rated it it was amazing 
Dec 20, 2016

Cheryl

Cheryl rated it really liked it 
Nov 24, 2016

Elaine Price-te

Elaine Price-te rated it it was amazing 
Aug 19, 2016


Vickie Bellamy

Vickie Bellamy rated it it was amazing 
Aug 18, 2016


Cassandra Winiecki

Cassandra Winiecki rated it it was amazing 
Jul 28, 2016


Margit Kidd

Margit Kidd rated it really liked it 
Jul 04, 2016


Jennifer M. McCracken

Jennifer M. McCracken rated it liked it 
Jun 30, 2016


Sandie

Sandie rated it  it was amazing 
Jun 28, 2016


kay tirronen

kay tirronen rated it really liked it 
Jun 22, 2016


Barbre

Barbre rated it it was amazing 
Jun 21, 2016


Karen

Karen rated it really liked it 
Jun 20, 2016


Rita Hall

Rita Hall rated it it was amazing 
Jun 19, 2016


Sharon

Sharon rated it really liked it 
Jun 12, 2016


HOWELL C COHEN

HOWELL C COHEN rated it it was amazing 
Jun 10, 2016


Lloyd Chezick

Lloyd Chezick rated it liked it 
Jun 07, 2016



frances g medley

frances g medley rated it it was amazing 
Jun 04, 2016


Nancy Sutphin

Nancy Sutphin rated it was amazing 
Jun 01, 2016


Susan Carroll

Susan Carroll rated it was amazing 
May 30, 2016


GENEVIEVE HAYES

GENEVIEVE HAYES rated it was amazing 
May 30, 2016


Randy

Randy rated it liked it 
May 30, 2016


deb Winn

deb Winn rated it it was amazing 
May 27, 2016


carol bordas

carol bordas rated it it was amazing 
May 25, 2016


Shirl

Shirl rated it it was amazing 
May 23, 2016


Debra Stanford

Debra Stanford rated it liked it 
Apr 26, 2016


Becky

Becky rated it liked it 
Apr 24, 2016


Laura

Laura rated it was amazing 
Apr 20, 2016


Kate loves the American Bad Ass

Kate loves the American Bad Ass rated it really liked it 
Apr 10, 2016


Jenaya
Jenny rated it it was ok
Apr 07, 2016


Amy
Amy rated it really liked it
Oct 01, 2015


Catherine Chilewski
Catherine Chilewski rated it was amazing
Apr 09, 2016


Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez rated it was amazing
Nov 13, 2015


Peggy
Peggy rated it liked it
Oct 25, 2015



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>