DEAD GIRLS DON’T BLOG Reviews

 Print5-stars
About one in every 500+ readers writes a review
and I cherish every single one I receive.

Unfortunately, Amazon has a nasty habit of “cleaning house” on occasion and wiping out reviews for reasons unknown. They do it to anyone who sells a product on their site, not just writers. But oh, how it hurts. Writers live for their reader’s reviews.
It happened to me recently, and I lost several lovely, thoughtful reviews.

From now on,  I’m saving my reviews here.
Even the ones that panned my books. 

And if Amazon does it again, hopefully, I can dispute it.
Unless they remove a nasty review!

horizontal-line



bookworm

Coffeebook Mom

Here’s a toast to Pamela Frost Dennis for a delightful mystery read that left me with a smile on my face. I really love murder/crime mysteries, the never-ending feeling of anticipation and shock always make my day. I could never get tired reading mysteries and Dead Girl’s Don’t Blog is not an exception.

I loved how Katy McKenna shares her thoughts on her blog and on the whole book as well. She’s quirky, snarky and feisty. Her blog entries cracked me up, something I fail to deliver on my own blog. Ha! She’s a talented artist who wasn’t much lucky in love. Then her inner sisterly instinct got the best of her when she learned of Phil Hobart’s impending release in prison after serving 15 years in prison, for the rape/kidnapping/murder charges of her high school friend, Lindsay Moore. Phil actually confessed all the things he and his friends had done to Lindsay and has been in incarceration for more than a decade, but Katy felt that it was her civic obligation to make sure that the parole for Phil Hobart wouldn’t happen.

Little did she know, she attracted danger when she started digging about her friend’s rape/murder case. Mystery surrounded her when she learned Hobart’s mom went ballistic after seeing her petition. I myself was mad about the convict’s freedom, but there were times when I actually pitied him. But justice has to be served and what better way to serve this than with a hot Katy on the trail.

I was also overwhelmed by Katy’s cohorts, namely her pets Daisy & Tabitha, plus there’s dear old wise Grandma! Ruby is hilarious! Never a dull moment with her, she is an enigma! I love everything in this book and would be thrilled if the author writes another one. Kudos to her for writing a true-to-life story that has a heart and full of adventures. Now, let me do some action on my own blog, too.

coffeeholicbookworm


 


 
I started Dead Girls Don’t Blog by Pamela Frost Dennis unsure as to what I would find when I opened the book and began to read.  What I found was a story that surprised me.  Mrs. Dennis wrote her story in a way that twisted my mind and made me question what would be right or wrong.  As I journeyed through this book, I found myself questioning what I would do in a similar situation.  I will admit that I did take my time with this book because of the extreme emotions the story incited.  I had to analyze not only the book but myself.  So, please remember that as I write this review.  
I’ll start with the setting.  I loved that the story took place in Santa Lucia, California.  It gave a vibrant backdrop to a very sad story.  The setting showed a nice neighborhood along with a college atmosphere ripe with fraternities and sororities.  I have to give Mrs. Dennis kudos for that.  The setting allowed some light into a dark situation.
Now, I will get to the characters.  I loved Katy.  She made me smile and she seemed like someone that I would be friends with.  Equally, I loved her mother, father, Sam and grandmother, Ruby and of course, Josh the Viking too.  Even her pets, Daisy and Tabitha were wonderful.  Surprisingly, I found that I liked Jake and Phil and that’s where my feelings become conflicted.  I can understand these characters.  I can understand what led them to their fates and it shook me.
That leads me to the story itself.  When I pick up a book, I want conflicts and emotion but I also want something that makes me think.  This book did that.  It made me think and see mistakes.  This book made me experience humanity in a very raw form.  So, I am in awe of the talent of Mrs. Pamela Frost Dennis.  
So, now I am to the part where I give something that I disliked about the book.  The problem is that I couldn’t find one thing wrong.  I loved it.  I can’t wait to read book two.  Thank you for a wonderful story, Pamela Frost Dennis.  
My Rating: 5 

amandakdudleypen.com



 

Pamela Frost Dennis has created a unique voice in this book, having her heroine, Katy McKenna, blog her way through the murder of a friend she experienced as a teenager. The event scarred her deeply, and 16 years later, the murderer is about to come up for parole. Katy resolves to stop that from happening, and that starts a wicked chain of events that just might get her killed. The book is well written and very involving. I would not normally read such graphic details of a rape and murder, but this one was so real, like it happened to your best friend, that I could not stop reading. I definitely think there is room in the modern mystery market for blogging to be an integral part of a story line. Excellent job of creating something fresh and new and deeply emotional. ***** Five


 

logo

 


 

amazon-reviews


on June 15, 2017
One of the best “light” mysteries I have read in a long time. There are enough plot twists in each of the story lines to keep a person guessing. Bravo!!
 
on June 5, 2017
The story really kept my attention! I don’t know if was because of the contrast between the flightiness of Katy and the seriousness of the crime, or in spite of it. But definitely worth the read.
 
on June 5, 2017
This is a good read. I really enjoyed this book a lot. I also liked the way it was written. I highly recommend this book.
 
on June 2, 2017
This was a very good book. I liked the way the author would take you back to funny Katy after spending some time with the darker side of a 15 year old rape and murder.
 
on June 1, 2017
I enjoyed this book so much that I immediately bought the second in the series. The authors writing style is fluid and easy to read. Interestingly it contains elements of both a cozy mystery and a more hard boiled type. The author splits the book into two timeframes, when the crime was committed in 1996 and present day. I enjoyed this format because it gave the reader 2 different points of view. One being the victim and perpetrators of this heinous crime (more gruesome than most cozy mysteries) and the other from Katie’s perspective which is more light hearted.
 
on June 1, 2017
This book held my interest from start to finish. It is actually several stories combined. The story of the murder of a young girl by 3 college boys. The story of the young woman who starts a petition to keep the murder in prision. I throughly enjoyed this book
 
on May 31, 2017
LOVED the book, in fact I couldn’t put it down until I finished it, and THAT hasn’t happened for years! Would have been a solid 5 stars except, right at the end ( page 296), the author gave the poor dead girl her killers last name!!!!!!! As in Lindsay HOBART! And no, that want a spoiler.
 
on May 31, 2017
Kindle Unlimited although came across the #1 on a freebie day so picked up #2 on ku.Keep trying to figure out what all the title really had to do with the story, and about 2/3 it didn’t. The blurb reads as if it was a close friend when it wasn’t, and the ‘date rape’ and subsequent murders were a bit odd as the main one had no real justice, the one being yes guy pretty much the same, but the other one who had the least took the brunt, and then of course there is the murder of the girl and the mother, so while it was a decent story there were several major flawsto my mind, and some minor ones which I overlooked, but the first part is indicated in the stars. The back and forth in the timeline was rather jarring as well.Dead Girls Don’t Blog (Murder Blog Mysteries #1)
Better Dead Than Wed (Murder Blog Mysteries #2)

 
on May 30, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed. A situation that happens too often was dealt with in a realistic matter.
 
on May 30, 2017
This has been one of my favorite books that I have read recently. It was fast paced and held my interest. I read it in a few hours time. The characters were real and believable. Katy is the main character who gets caught up in the drama of an old cold case. Years ago a teenager was raped and eventually killed by three college students at a frat house. The cold case unravels throughout the book. I was a little put off by the story going back and forth from the time of the crimes to current times, but it did eventually work. I liked Katy’s grandmother in the story. She added a lot of life to the tale. I can see her character showing up in future books. I was a little disappointed that the ghost of the dead girl did not show up to help solve the crime. Maybe next time? I think you will enjoy this book.
on May 30, 2017
Mini review since writing on Kindle. Will write more later. The crimes described were horrifying. The story is riveting. And I hope the Viking’s blind date is a nightmare! 😉
 
on May 30, 2017
This book was a fun read, good characters that kept my attention and moved right along. I enjoyed it a lot
 
on May 4, 2017
Oh 5 Stars, absolutely! Every character in this book is a good story in itself the lead character is a lot of fun and I could relate to her really well period and the cold case involved was very interesting to me. Along with good fun and a good read and some gripping spots you must read this book. I’m going to get the next one and I I hope there are more books to come from Pamela Frost Dennis
on February 7, 2017
Good easy read. Would read more in the series. Good plot and twists. Read a good book every day or every week depending on your schedule
on January 9, 2017
I have to admit I was intrigued as a blogger myself when I saw this title as I was like Oooh Blogs. Then when I saw the idea of Dead Girls Don’t Blog it got me more interested. I had a whole different story running through my head on what this would be about I soon discovered once I started reading. The book started out fifteen years ago when a girl Lindsay Moore was raped and murdered coming home from a party. The next chapter jumps fifteen years into the future, and one of the convicted Philip Hobart is up for parole. Katy McKenna knew Lindsay from school and was an acquaintance. She can’t believe that Philip is up for parole, after all, he not only raped her but murdered her. Katy decides to start up a petition to stop the parole release; this leads her to blog as she needs a hobby. During this book, we have two sides of the story going from Katy’s view in the present time and Philip’s viewpoint leading from the first time he met Lindsey right up to the day he turned himself in. We also learn the reasoning behind what happened to the other two culprits and why it is only Philip behind bars. I have to admit this was a fast-paced read and I quite liked the twist where Philip’s family confronted Katy, and we learn what they went through as well. This showed readers that for every action, there are reactions from both sides of the table and often the convicted, their families can suffer tremendously too. Sometimes just as bad as the victim’s families. Dead Girl’s Don’t Blog by Pamela Frost Dennis was a cozy mystery and reminded me of the type of books that are published by Henery Press.
on December 28, 2016
I loved this book! The characters were well-developed and the story kept me guessing right up until the end. And by the way, the restaurant referred to in the book, the Klondike (klondikepizza.com) is awesome…for real!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
I could hardly put it down
on December 6, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This book grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go. The characters were well rounded and seemed like people you could meet in your own town. It was very thought provoking.
 
on December 5, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was given to me by a friend so I did not purchase it, but did request to read it. I was not disappointed. The author makes a serious subject somewhat easier to digest with the addition of humor throughout the story. I loved the comical situations in
which the main character finds herself. Many of these situations are not unreal from our own comical experiences. It is a fast read yet gives pause for thought about how easily life can be turned upside down in a moment. I am anxious to read the next book by this author. I am always up for a good murder or mystery and Dead Girls Don’t Blog filled the bill.
 
on December 5, 2016
Not sure what I expected when I got this book. It turned out to be so much more than just another quirky girl doing detective work. It kept my interest and I really liked it. I think the author did a very good job of writing about the hurt all endured.
 
on December 4, 2016
I needed a quick read as a diversion and I thought this book would do the job. Boy was I wrong–this book was not a diversion (quick, easy, fun read), but a destination in it’s self. The situation could be one that occurs any weekend in a college town, but what sets it apart is you get the victim’s story, the perpetrators story, (both set in the past) and the story of what the past does to the future. Great read!
 
on November 11, 2016
As a retired children’s librarian I never would have thought I could enjoy a mystery about the rape and murder of a fifteen-year-old girl, but I could not put this book down. Peopled with believable characters — innocent, sinister, quirky, funny, crazed — set in a suspenseful, involving and, yes, at times humorous yarn, this will keep the reader fascinated from beginning to end. The first in a planned “Murder Blog Mysteries” series, this promises entertaining reading with the release of each new book. Keep ‘em coming!
on August 10, 2016
Dead girls don’t blog was a great read!


5.0 out of 5 stars

By Amazon Customer on 2 Mar. 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

We are proud to announce that DEAD GRILS DON’T BLOG by Pamela Frost Dennis is a B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!


Format: Kindle Edition – Amazon UK

I really enjoyed this story, wasn’t too sure by the description but gave it a try & thanks did really enjoy it in the end!


5.0 out of 5 stars
Really enjoyed this book

on July 15, 2016
I really liked this book, It was different than other cozy type mysteries where someone who has no business investigating a crime is doing so. Katy is not investigating at all, she is trying to prevent a rapist and murderer from being released from prison early on parole. The story is told from two perspectives, present day with Katy, and past from the perspective of the criminal who committed the crimes whose release Katy is trying to prevent. The criminal is surprising likable and sympathetic. The two stories converge with some action towards the end. I really enjoyed this book and will definately read the next in the series.


4.0 out of 5 stars
Humor, murder, a little wannabe romance

on July 11, 2016
I really enjoyed how the past was intertwined with present. It was such a unique perspective to give the reader. In the end, you have to ask if the punishment fit the crime, how much past information don’t we know in the present, and if we did know, would we think differently? Great use of humor and a warm supporting cast.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Dead Girls Don’t Blog

This is what I call a “comfy mystery”. It’s been awhile since I’ve read one and I enjoyed this one very much. It is well written and an interesting read.


5.0 out of 5 stars
best book ever read it in one night

on June 29, 2016
i really like how the book keeps you interested i really want to find the next in the series. this book also helped me get back jnto reading and i would recommend it to everyone


5.0 out of 5 stars
Dead Girls do blog with help!

on June 14, 2016
But really, dead girls did blog, with help, in this book! Interesting twist on a cozy mystery plot and well done! The ending was a surprise as well. Looking forward to reading more by this author. This book is a winner!


5.0 out of 5 stars
Not the usual violent crime story

on June 9, 2016
Murder and rape are not subjects to be taken lightly. Dennis has woven horrible events into a picture that shows the negative impact of poor decisions extended to include more than just the immediate victims and the immediate results. Her heroine smacks of Stephanie Plum without Plums voracious sexual appetite. Katy is your average, everyday 30 something. She suffers tunnel vision when on a mission. She reacts with humor rather than pathos to life challenges. She even recognizes when a snap judgment is wrong and shifts to make it right. I truly enjoyed her and have eagerly begun the next “Blog”.


on June 7, 2016
Enjoyable – would read more by this author.


on June 7, 2016
Loved it


4.0 out of 5 stars
It was a good mystery. It traveled between the time of the …

on May 30, 2016
It was a good mystery. It traveled between the time of the mystery and present day. It gave you an idea of how the mystery happened.


4.0 out of 5 stars
In the end it got too silly for my taste and over road a sensitive horrible event in a young persons life

on May 30, 2016
This was an interesting mystery. Kept me reading. Had to find out what happened. In the end it got too silly for my taste and over road a sensitive horrible event in a young persons life.


Blogging is fun

on May 21, 2016
Enjoyed this story. I’m not one to write reviews but I feel this is definitely worth the time to read. The only thing missing is the prisoners point of view at the end and perhaps a little more conversation with his family. I enjoyed the main characters and would definitely be up for reading a new adventure.


on May 16, 2016
For the most part, I enjoyed the book. But honestly one of the villains, Phil had very sympathetic qualities, and I really thought that should have counted. I do feel I wasted time reading this book because I expected more. Bummer.


5.0 out of 5 stars
DEAD GIRLS DON’T BLOG
on May 13, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved this book! The main character is so funny and managed to solve a cold case herself. I laughed and cried reading it. It had me so torn up but in the end I was okay with it. Please read this. I know you will enjoy it.


4.0 out of 5 stars
Entertaining.
on May 12, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading this. It kept me reading. I read it in a short time. Very easy and entertaining.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Really enjoyed your book
By Amazon Customer on May 3, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed your book. I kept waiting for her to get her man and was surprised when she didn’t but still really liked the flow of the story. I’m sorry it was a true story, and I do understand how someone could get involved by peer pressure but there were several opportunities for him to say no, but he didn’t.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Well-written intriguing story of a twisted crime from the past
By Sugar on April 29, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I found this book to be very enjoyable, well-written and intriguing. While the subject matter is touchy, the fact is, these types of crimes happen everyday, and everyday the people paying for those crimes are released from prison too early. I thought the author did a fantastic job of letting us get to know Katy, while moving the story forward easily and swiftly. I’ve already bought Better Wed Than Dead and can’t wait to see what Katy gets herself into in this book. I already despise her was-band Chad, and hope he gets his in the next book!


5.0 out of 5 stars
Fast Paced and Enjoyable Despite a Grim Event
on April 25, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I forced myself to read past the over-inflated prose that dominated the prologue and was quickly rewarded with better writing. Thank goodness!To my surprise and delight, the story gripped me in the second chapter. I flew through the entire book, enjoying its twists and turns, while growing quite fond of Katy.


5.0 out of 5 stars
Excellent book
on April 20, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I completely enjoyed reading this, finding out it was based on the author’s
real life experience made it better. She gave each character a different personality and they were well put together. Thank you.


on April 18, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified PurchaseNot sure that I understand or like the title. It almost kept me from opening the book, but once I started, I couldn’t put it down until I only had 8 pages to go, but I was so sleepy that I was hallucinating. Funny and thought provoking especially as I live in a university town where I could see how it could happen here! We have sexual assaults at least twice a week.

on April 16, 2016
I have to say, this book really broke my heart, AND made me nervous. Geez! I love a good murder mystery, but this one really had me going. My husband reminded me, it’s just a book, it’s not real. And then! I read the author’s note, and its based on a real story, just not as horrendous. Not sure I could take the real one. Great read. The best ones are always the ones that get you so involved, they hurt.

on April 14, 2016
Given the subject matter, I thought the title was rather flippant. However, I found the book quite compelling. Katy and her family remind me of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and her family.


on April 12, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Excellent book. Kept me turning the page to find out what would happen to Katy next. I ordered the next book before I finished this one.

on April 11, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
So good I bought the next one. Plus, it made me a little teary at the end. Can’t wait for more in this series.

 
on April 10, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase I like that this was loosely based on theauthors reaction to a similar parole hearing. The investigator is quirky and human and keeps the ugly parts if the criminal investigation in balance. It’s a great summer, guilty pleasure crime solving read.

 
on April 10, 2016
Difficult to put down. Fast moving crime drama.


 
on April 10, 2016
This was an interesting mystery centered around areal life event that happened to the author. When Katy sees an article about a parole hearing for a man who raped and murdered a teen, she feels strongly that he needs to stay in prison. Katy later learns that the victim has no living family to speak for her. Katy plans to take this role until the police chief (who was also the investigating detective in the case years ago) deems it too dangerous. Instead, Katy circulates a petition. This lands her afoul of the perpetrator’s family. Though three men participated in the original crime, two die before trial. His story and that of the victim are told through a series of flashbacks. Katy does begin to realize that the perpetrator’s family suffered also–though in a different way.


on April 10, 2016
This book was fantastic from beginning to end. It is one of those books that when you begin to read, you cannot put down until the very last page. I thought at first it was going to be difficult keeping the plots straight switching back and then present, every other chapter. But it was not hard at all and the pages kept turning. I can hardly wait to read more books written by this author.


on  April 8, 2016
This book manages to be breezy without leaving anything out. It’s a good quick read with enough meat on the bones to leave the reader satisfied with the resolution of the current situation but still curious about the next steps in this 31-year-old’s coming of age.


on April 8, 2016
As I read I saw two sides to one story. But I was conflicted as I saw the criminal was a victim of circumstances. I got to see how his actions ate at his conscious. This was really hard for me.
A young woman found the strength to walk into a NJ police station to press charges against a pedifile that then went to CA when 4 other victims came forward to convict him. He was truly a wolf in sheepskin. If you knew him at 19 you would have a hard time to meld the two halves of him. Don’t get me wrong I spoke at his sentencing to confront him and to make sure he never gets parole. He got 55 years, w having to serve 47 1/2 years of the sentence. He was 45 when sentenced. He will never touch another little girl again. He waited to confess until the first day of picking the jury for his trial. Back to your book. I connected with the mother as I am the mother of the young woman mentioned.
I would recommend this book to teenagers, parents, well to everyone.


on April 7, 2016
I only review books that are really good or really awful. This book was really good. I was involved enough to wonder what happened to Phil as
he seemed to be a nice guy who didone really wrong thing and wanted to fix his mistake and then atone. Many surprises and best coined word-WASBAND!


 
on April 7, 2016
Loved it!!! Great story and characters. I love reading stories that are realistic. It kept me reading on and on to the end. I couldn’t put it down!


 
on April 6, 2016
This was a really good book , started reading and couldn’t put it down . The characters are true tolife. The only thing going against for was the switching from year to year. But I will look for more books by this author. Would recommend it to anyone who likes a good mystery.


 
on March 14, 2016
Awesome read great job Pamela Dennis

on November 30, 2015
This is a good book by Palema Frost Dennis. The title didn’t give anything away so was not sure what I was getting into, but I got into good. It is a good mystery, and a good story with a heroine that is not supergirl but a real human. Enjoyed it because there was humor in the story, some good characters and a plot that ends, but only partially because there is much to complete in a next book. received it in Goodreads Giveaway and am happy that I did.
Author: JohnWesley,NaturalMan,and theIsms””Wesley’sWars” “To Whom It May Concern” and “Tell Me About the United Methodist Church”


 
on November 27, 2015
I had a hard time reading this book because it was so powerful and disturbing at times that I had to let it sink in before going back to it. The ending was shocking andunexpected, but left me feeling a little ungratified (in the sense that some important game-changing details were never revealed to the protagonist, Katy). That said, it’s the sort of book that lingers with you, and is difficult to forget, mostly because of the way it makes you feel, and the way it forces you to analyze your sympathies and where they lie.


 
on November 25, 2015
This book starts out with a rape which was a little surprising,however the story line continues to surprise, yet entertain. Not that rape is entertaining,however the story does keep you turning the pages.


 
on November 11, 2015
Interesting book. Actually two stories going on here. One very sinister and dark, the other a cute Stephanie Plum kind of girly story.
Nicely done and easy to read.


 
on October 15, 2015
I waa pleasantly surprised that, while in some cases ways light, the book had a lot more substance than I’d expected based on the title and cover.


 
on October 11, 2015
Almost did not progress to Ch 2 when I started it, which would have been a BIG mistake.Story is based on a personaal experience of the author, and does a great job of showing the two sides of the issue while delivering great interest and humor.Looking forward to the next work by this author.


on October 1, 2015
Excellent mystery! I loved the main character (Katy) as well as her family & friends. The story moved quickly, characters were quirky &thrre was humor. What’s not to like? Looking forward to the next nook.


 
on September 14, 2015
I loved the characters in this book, I can’t wait to read the second adventure…it kept me absorbed the entire time, which wasn’t long since I could barely put the book down. I have read the plot for “Better Dead Than Wed” and will most likely be purchasing a Kindle just so I can read it. Nicely done Pamela Frost Dennis…I’m hooked!!


 
on June 19, 2015
Loved the heroine and all her adventures. This author has the gift of making her characters unforgettable. If you like mysteries, murder, and grim drama with vivid characters you will like this book. The story of our heroine discovering the crime years later combined with the agonizing story of the crime is riveting.


 
on May 13, 2015
I started Dead Girls Don’t Blog by Pamela Frost Dennis unsure as to what I would find when I opened the book and began to read. What I found was a story that surprised me. Mrs. Dennis wrote her story in a way that twisted my mind and made me question what would be right or wrong. As I journeyed through this book, I found myself questioning what I would do in a similar situation. I will admit that I did take my time with this book because of the extreme emotions the story incited. I had to analyze not only the book but myself. So, please remember that as I write this review.
I’ll start with the setting. I loved that the story took place in Santa Lucia, California. It gave a vibrant backdrop to a very sad story. The setting showed a nice neighborhood along with a college atmosphere ripe with fraternities and sororities. I have to give Mrs. Dennis kudos for that. The setting allowed some light into a dark situation.
Now, I will get to the characters. I loved Katy. She made me smile and she seemed like someone that I would be friends with. Equally, I loved her mother, father, Sam and grandmother, Ruby and of course, Josh the Viking too. Even her pets, Daisy and Tabitha were wonderful. Surprisingly, I found that I liked Jake and Phil and that’s where my feelings become conflicted. I can understand these characters. I can understand what led them to their fates and it shook me.
That leads me to the story itself. When I pick up a book, I want conflicts and emotion but I also want something that makes me think. This book did that. It made me think and see mistakes. This book made me experience humanity in a very raw form. So, I am in awe of the talent of Mrs. Pamela Frost Dennis.
So, now I am to the part where I give something that I disliked about the book. The problem is that I couldn’t find one thing wrong. I loved it. I can’t wait to read book two. Thank you for a wonderful story, Pamela Frost Dennis.


 
on May 8, 2015
Sexual abuse and murder triggers. This story is a difficult read due to the emotional content, jumping between the years and different perspectives. The lead female is light-hearted. The crime she is working on is totally opposite of her personality. It just doesn’t go together.The author goes into great detail about the three young men. The one who tried to save the life of the girl and turned himself in carries the full weight of all three.There are unanswered questions, destroyed lives and a sense of despair. The lead character never attempted contact with the one in prison. She had no knowledge of what exactly happened, just chose her crusade.What happened with the older girl cousin who brought the young girls to the Frat party?The author prides herself on her real life petition to keep a rapist/murderer from being paroled.Given how she wrote of the three men, why does one still breathingdeserveto be left in prison? I use the term breathing as he is not living. Give him a means of taking himself out.I doubt I will re-read this book. I may be interested in other works by this author.


 
on April 2, 2015
I thought that the book was very good and I will probably read more by this author. but I also thought that the flashback murder chapters were unnecessary and I became bored quickly.


 
on March 16, 2015
We are proud to announce that DEAD GIRLS DON’T BLOG by Pamela Frost Dennis is a B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!


 
on February 1, 2015
I really enjoyed this book. It is a mystery that tackles a hard subject, but the author has included a delightfully quirky heroine and some humor that make it a really good read. The story line keeps your guessing from the first pages and kept me turning pages to see what could possibly happen next. I definitely look forward to reading more by this author.


 

on January 1, 2016
Absolutely amazing gripping book !!! Iwas surprised it ended how it did were the guy that felt the most remorse was the one paying the dearest price but he is a rapist so I understand but all told a 5 star book that keeps you reading till the end ,I will definitely be looking for more of her books !


on January 12, 2015
Loved this book from the beginning to the end! I’m looking forward to the next book in the series and hope it will be here soon.


 
on November 24, 2014
A really good, fun read.


on November 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this book of blogging,murder and revenge. I liked how the author used time dating to separate what happened in the past as opposed to what was happening now. It is a good story of how things can go to bad to worse when one of the people involved isa unsuspected sociopath and how good people can be in denial about what is really going on. One of the interesting aspects is how it comes to be that only one of the people involved in the crime is being mentioned in the present. Thereis a couple of places in the story where you wonder why the protagonist can be so naïve/stupid, but then you realize she is simply reacting how most people would. I only had one question at the end of the book. When is the author’s next book?


 
on November 20, 2014
Dead Girls Don’t Blog (Murder Blog Mysteries Book 1) by Pamela Frost Dennis is a great story about Katy McKenna who is ready to give her life a new start. What starts as a typical day becomes a quest after she reads about a parole hearing for a man who not only raped an old friend from high school, but murdered her as well. Katy starts off on a quest to make sure that this man cannot hurt anyone else.What I loved about this was that it combines mystery and suspense with a female lead I really loved. Many people have great ideas but not everyone can write and fortunately, Pamela Frost Dennis can really write well and draw you into the characters. I enjoyed it from the start and all thewayto to finish. Best of all, it’s book one so that means we can look forward to more of the adventures of Katy McKenna.


 
on September 21, 2014
Dead Girls Don’t Blog by Pamela Frost Dennis
Warning: Deeply disturbing graphic account of rape, kidnapping and murder.
Review by Sandy Penny, SweetMysteryBooks.com
Pamela Frost Dennis has created a unique voice in this book, having her heroine, Katy McKenna, blog her way through the murder of a friend she experienced as a teenager. The event scarred her deeply, and 16 years later, the murderer is about to come up for parole. Katy resolves to stop that from happening, and that starts a wicked chain of events that just might get her killed. The book iswell written and very involving. I would not normally read such graphic details of a rape and murder, but this one was so real, like it happened to your best friend, that I could not stop reading. I definitely think there is room in the modern mystery market for blogging to be an integral part of a story line. Excellent job of creating something fresh and new and deeply emotional. ***** Five Stars.


 
on September 21, 2014
Here she comes to save the day..Katy McKenna’s conscience won’t allow a convicted murderer and rapist to be paroled from his conviction in 1996 of a high school girl friend. The story line, bounces from the present back to 1996 with ease, answering questions that put the then boy, Phillip Hobart, a college frat boy, behind bars. The description of the crimes, the rape and subsequent murder are graphic and disturbing, but most important, plausible. Smart & plucky, Katy resolves to get enough petitions signed to be delivered at the Parole Hearing, and insure that killer not be released..Ever!Dead Girls Don’t Blog has humor woven throughout with fun and quirky characters, like Grandma Ruby, Josh, (the Viking next door) her Was-band and his new young replacement wife. I look forward to the second book and following them in the next story line.The book is well rounded and answers questions from the past and present with suprising details and outcomes. Definitely a fun read that builds to shocking a conclusion.


 
on September 19, 2014
I was expecting a cozy and Pamela’s book certainly has a charming protagonist, quirky characters, and humor which makes me want to read her next book, but there is a dark side to her writing. Interspersed in the present is her character trying to stop a rapist and killer from getting parole. The book flips to 1996 as the horrendous crime that led up to the imprisonment of the man she wants to keep in prison is told from the perspective of the victim and the perpetrators. Some of the descriptions are disturbing; what makes for a complex read is that the perpetrators are in many ways as innocent as their victim. Well done.


 
on September 17, 2014
Pamela Frost Dennis’ novel was inspired by her real life experiences, which gives her tale of a woman trying to keep a soon-to-be-paroled sex crime killer off the streets a feeling of gravitas. It’s serious subject matter, which Frost Dennis explores through a split structure: the novel jumps in time between 1996 and the present. In the “now” sections, we follow Katy, a recently divorced, justifiably bitter woman, who is also a lot of fun and has a serious righteous streak. When she was a teenager, one of her friends was brutally raped, then later kidnapped and killed. The 1996 section follow that friend’s timeline. Frost Dennis skillfully navigates between the two, building horror with the unfolding knowledge of what happened in 1996, and how justice was eventually carried out. I’m not sure Frost Dennis needed to start with the exact event that she did – it feels a little exploitative that early on, but the novel finds its tone as it progresses, and the subject is dark but Katy’s verve and need to see real justice done alleviates that heaviness. Katy is an easy character to spend time with, and the author has a real ear for the rhythm ofdialogue and a real bounce to her writing. It’s a novel worth reading.


 
on August 15, 2014
Dead Girls Don’t Blog has a good balance between serious and quirky, a balance that becomes very important with the serious nature of the book. I do love that this book is based on real life perspectives and experiences, and I think that this strongly contributes to how the book turned out. I found that I could easily imagine myself in the shoes of Katy McKenna, although I don’t think her and I would always react the same. It was nice to find a book that managed to be both intelligent and funny without going overboard in either direction.I will be looking out for the next book in the series.
 
on August 8, 2014
I’ll admit, I didn’t have much hope for this book when I first saw the cover. However, once I began reading it, I couldn’t put it down! The protagonist, Katy, was very likeable but also believable in her adventures.There was enough backstory that you didn’t feel lost, and the author, Dennis, made sure to hold our interest with undeveloped characters, and subtle promises of more to come.I look forward to her next book in the series.


 
on August 5, 2014
Here’s a toast to Pamela Frost Dennis for a delightful mystery read that left me with a smile on my face. I really love murder/crime mysteries, the never-ending feeling of anticipation and shock always make my day. I could never get tired reading mysteries and Dead Girl’s Don’t Blog is not an exception.I loved how Katy McKenna shares her thoughts on her blog and on the whole book as well. She’s quirky, snarky and feisty. Her blog entries cracked me up, something I fail to deliver on my own blog. Katy’s a talented artist who wasn’t much lucky in love. Then her inner sisterly instinct got the best of her when she learned of Phil Hobart’s impending release after serving 15 years in incarceration, for the rape/kidnapping/murder charges of her high school friend, Lindsay Moore. Phil actually confessed all the things he and his friends had done to Lindsay and had been in prison for more than a decade, but Katy felt that it was her civic obligation to make sure that the parole for Phil Hobart wouldn’t happen. Little did she know, she attracted dangerwhenshestarteddiggingabout her friend’s rape/murder case. Mystery surrounded her when she learned Hobart’s mom went ballistic after seeing her petition. I myself was mad about the convict’s freedom, but there were times when I actually pitied him. But justicehasto be served and what better way to serve this than with a hot Katy on the trail. Plus there’s dear old wise Grandma Ruby on the side! Ruby is hilarious! Never a dull moment with her, she is an enigma! I love everything in this book and would be thrilled if the author writes another one. Kudos to her for writing a true-to-life story that has a heart and full of adventures.


 
on August 4, 2014
This is a pretty interesting book. It is a murder mystery with some wit and humor. However, I don’t want to give the impression that this it is some sort of feel good book, it is a murder mystery after all. The characters are well detailed, a few of them are unconventional. The plot is very well built. I didn’t know when first reading that this book actually has two somewhat different stories which later merge. Very enjoyable, I definitely will be waiting for the next book in the series.


on July 25, 2014
This book is loosely based on an experience the author endured. I love books that have been based off a true life event, but have been altered to become a slightly new story such as this one. A great, intelligent read. This was a mystery but you can also find humor among the pages to keep the story from becoming dark, considering what the subject matter is. A well rounded book that you can read in one sitting, it’s just that good!


 
VINE VOICE on July 24, 2014
California author Pamela Frost Davis’s history as shared by the author on her various websites is not only interesting, it also leads in to the mechanics of the story she present in DEAD GIRLS DON’T BLOG. Her career is rich in experience. In her words, `In my previous lives, I worked as: a street singer in San Francisco, a telephone operator, a lumberjack (kidding), a technical illustrator in the aerospace industry, a freelance graphic artist, an advertising director, a soccer mom and golf mom. Add to that the fact that she is an inveterate blogger and uses that skill in her writing (for those of us who aren’t savvy with blog terms such as BFF – `best friend forever’-, TMI, LOL etc – and likely those of us are in an embarrassing minority), a restaurateur, has followed her aerospace husband through Nevada, Washington, Colorado and Alaska, has nursed her husband through cancer (survivor!), her youngest son disabled requiring serious surgery (survivor!), tried her hand at screenwriting, playwriting, Young Adult writing, a website for women and all the while maintaining a sense of balance and emotional maturity that surpasses any character she can create!The author’s own Introduction to her book offers the best scenario of her story: `After nursing her husband through cancer, and then getting dumped for a “pre-schooler”, Katy McKenna is ready for a major life reboot… First on her “super-exciting-new-life” agenda is to resurrect the graphics arts career that she put on hold to run a bookstore with her “was-band”. Easier said than done. One day, while gathering newspapers for recycling, Katy notices a story about an impending parole hearing for the man who raped and murdered her high school friend sixteen years ago. Sickened that this man could soon be preying on other young girls, Katy decides to step out of her comfort zone and do something to make sure this doesn’t happen, not realizing the imminent peril she’s about to unleash upon herself. Meanwhile, Grandma Ruby is hell-bent on finding Katy a hunky transition man, and her happily-married BFF is nagging her to blog about her anger
issues.’Pamela then opens her book with one of the mostharrowingly gruesome rape scenes from 1996 and then jumps very comfortably into the present where we meet Katy, in her pajamas, inadvertently meeting Josh her hunky Viking next door neighbor while answering a telephone call from her Grandma Ruby informing her that her ex (Chad) is marrying his very young trainer and that they are pregnant. Katy begins to face issues that she relates in a hilarious manner. An author who can jump between the past and the present, managing all the macabre details of the past memory with the often hilarious realities of the present and the mystery she must solve of the incident detail described in the opening. Prologue proves she is already a master of her trade.
This is a writer of talent and deserves our closest attention. Grady Harp, July 14
Grady Harp, July 14


 
on July 23, 2014
This is a great little read that will stick in your head for days to come. Deniss has created a very vivid and real world with a rapist, murderer who we hate with all the passion and fury within us, and other characters that we fall in love with. Dead Girl’s Don’t Blog but this author does an amazing job of creating a blogging world that makes you enjoy every moment of the story and wonder what other adventures her characters will get into. Really good read.


 
on July 20, 2014
Dead Girls Don’t Blog by Pamela Frost Dennis tells the story of two connected timelines of events. The first involves the rape and murder of a local teenage girl back in 1996, while the second timeline is essentially set in present day. I was surprised to find, and pleasantly so, that the first timeline is generally told from the perspective of one of the young men responsible for the crime, but as the events play out the reader learns a few things that take this seemingly black and white good versus evil story and blurs those lines. The book itself is relatively fast paced and made for a quick read. I don’t really think that the title works for the story. The main character Katy, of present day, is talked into giving blogging a try as a means of coping with her disastrous marriage and subsequent divorce, but hardly any of the blog entries actually discuss the case of the teenage girl from 1996. My only other complaint also centers on the characters of the present day timeline. It almost felt as though I learned more about the individuals involved in the 1996 timeline whereas the “main” character and her next door neighbor come off a bit unfinished and flat. You may also find that the ending of this novel surprises and may even upset you, but it was certainly not predictable. Enjoy.


 
on July 19, 2014
Started this one, but lost interest somewhere along the way. I may get back to it later.


 
on July 10, 2014
Sad premise, but a good book. I liked it. There were some very hard moments in it. Good language skills and editing. Be alert, this is not a pretty plot. Likable heroine. Keeps your interest.


 
VINE VOICE on June 19, 2014
Ms. Dennis,I read your book in one night and quickly put my opinion on paper. Actually, it was on an Amazon Forum that I’ve been on for 5+ years. Some of them bought the book but I haven’t heard about their reviews yet. But, I want to say what a great job you did of showing us the thoughts of the boys involved that night at the fraternity party and then later throughout your switching years, back and forth, to give us more insight. The scene in the forest was ‘hairy’ to say the least and cozy readers have come away from such scary typing. But, this was necessary, I thought, to show your readers what a careless act can lead to. In a strange way, I felt sorry for the last boy standing – not so much as I wanted him exonerated but he seemed a victim in some ways. You wrote something that every fraternity boy should read as should underage girls who want something more in their existence. Please give us more of this blogger’s thoughts and cases as you have helped produce some avid believers in your ability. Good luck in the future.


 
on May 11, 2014
A friend recommended “Dead Girls” and I’m glad she did. Ms Dennis has written a very entertaining book. The main character is personable and funny. And since I live on the central coast, I recognized many of the locations. Especially Klondike Pizza (where you can get a wicked pie!). Looking forward to the next “Blog” adventure.

on May 7, 2014
Who could ask for anything more from a book? Humor – yup, it has that too.
A great, intelligent read. This is the best book I have read in a long time. The humor is great, but the underlying seriousness causes one to examine how things happen. I finished the book over a week ago, and it is still very vivid in my mind.
The title and the cover made me think itwasa “ladies” book – don’t judge this by its cover!If you enjoy humor, intrigue, cover ups, eccentric characters or dogs, you owe it to yourself to read this book.


 
on May 6, 2014
I love a good mystery, this book certainly has this going for it. I also found the humor refreshing, keeping the book from getting too dark, as the subject matter is. Oneofthose book’s you can’t wait to see what happens next. By the time I got to the end I wanted more. Can’t wait for the next installment. Soon Please!


on May 3, 2014
Lots of writers have used the formula of a quirky heroine, in over her head, solving a major crime, but there is something about the characters and topic that makes Dead Girls Don’t Blog a very good read; enough so, that I DO want to leave a review! The story of the college rape,cover-up and ruin, seemed all too real and disturbing but thankfully, author Pamela Frost Dennis, changes the tone of the read very effectively, with a nice group of odd characters you want to hear more from. I do hope this is not just a shot in the dark and there is more to come from the author; and soon!


 And finally – my first book review …
on April 20, 2014
I usually never write reviews on books but I just have to say that I truly loved this book. Some serious parts, great humorous parts…it has everything. So easy to read and simply enjoyable.I hope this is part of a series . I will be watching to see.



goodreads 


Elizabeth Bennoch

rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2017

Sylvia B Morgan

Sylvia B Morgan
rated it it was amazing

Jun 12, 2017
 
Brenda Dworaczyk

Brenda Dworaczyk
rated it really liked it

Jun 08, 2017
 
Ayanti Guha

Ayanti Guha
rated it liked it

Jun 07, 2017
 
 
Tony George

Tony George
rated it really liked it

Jun 06, 2017
 
 
Trudy Gleason

Jun 03, 2017
Trudy Gleason rated it really liked it  
It is amazing how much one drunken act can affect so many lives in such a profound way. Good book.
 
 
Ann Wollschleger

rated it really liked it
Jun 03, 2017
 
Candace

Candace
rated it it was amazing

Jun 03, 2017
 
Bette Smith

Bette Smithrated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2017
 
 
Peggy Smith

Peggy Smith
rated it it was ok

Jun 02, 2017
 
Patricia Wild

rated it it was amazing
Jun 02, 2017
 
Georgia Bridgman

rated it really liked it
Jun 01, 2017
 
 
vicki

vicki
rated it it was amazing

Jun 01, 2017
Debbie Croff

rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2017
Vivianne

Vivianne
rated it really liked it

May 31, 2017
 
 
Songstress7

rated it liked it
May 31, 2017
 
John Klipsch

rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2017
Bonnie Dale Keck

Bonnie Dale Keck rated it really liked it
Kindle Unlimited although came across the #1 on a freebie day so picked up #2 on ku.Keep trying to figure out what all the title really had to do with the story, and about 2/3 it didn’t. The blurb reads as if it was a close friend when it wasn’t, and the ‘date rape’ and subsequent murders were a bit odd as the main one had no real justice, the one being yes guy pretty much the same, but the other one who had the least took the brunt, and then of course there is the murder of the girl and the mo

…more

John McCormick

rated it liked it
May 30, 2017
 
Evelyn

Evelyn
rated it really liked it

May 30, 2017
 
 
LuAnn

May 30, 2017
LuAnn rated it it was amazing 
Incredibly Good Story
Mini review since writing on Kindle. Will write more later. The crimes described were horrifying. The story is riveting. And I hope the Viking’s blind date is a nightmare! 😉
M. Winkler

rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2017
 
Emanuela Tomova

rated it it was amazing
Apr 19, 2017
 
Sarah

rated it it was amazing
Mar 17, 2017
Roseann Moss

Roseann Moss rated it really liked it

This is NOT a cozy. This is a well written crime/mystery. But is very dark written in the voice of the of the participants including the victim. First chapter is a rape or maybe only appears as a rape.
 
Kelly Stovall

rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2017
 
Lisa

rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2017
 
Steva Keil

rated it it was amazing
Jan 18, 2017
 
 
Angela Bailey

rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2017
Paula  Phillips

Paula Phillips rated it really liked it

I have to admit I was intrigued as a blogger myself when I saw this title as I was like Oooh Blogs. Then when I saw the idea of Dead Girls Don’t Blog it got me more interested. I had a whole different story running through my head on what this would be about I soon discovered once I started reading. The book started out fifteen years ago when a girl Lindsay Moore was raped and murdered coming home from a party. The next chapter jumps fifteen years into the future, and one of the convicted Philip
…more
Erika Barnathan

rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2017
 
Erica Zimmerman

rated it liked it
Jan 02, 2017
 
 
Starla B

Starla B rated it it was amazing

Shelves: read-2017
I loved this book. The subject matter was hard, but I could not put the book down. I ended up finishing it in about two and a half hours. I am definitely interested in reading the next book in the series!
 
Ellen

Ellen rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2016
 
Pandora

rated it it was ok
Dec 21, 2016
 
Jill Manzanarez

rated it it was amazing
Dec 08, 2016
Vick rated it it was amazing
I could hardly put it down
This book grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go. The characters were well rounded and seemed like people you could meet in your own town. It was very thought provoking.
Joni

Dec 04, 2016 Joni rated it it was amazing  
Dead Girls Don’t Blog I needed a quick read as a diversion and I thought this book would do the job. Boy was I wrong–this book was not a diversion (quick, easy, fun read), but a destination in it’s self. The situation could be one that occurs any weekend in a college town, but what sets it apart is you get the victim’s story, the perpetrators story, (both set in the past) and the story of what the past does to the future. Great read!

Cassandra Winiecki

Jun 29, 2016 Cassandra Winiecki rated it it was amazing  
best book ever read it in one night
i really like how the book keeps you interested i really want to find the next in the series. this book also helped me get back jnto reading and i would recommend it to everyone


Wanda

May 29, 2016 Wanda rated it it was amazing  
This story was based on a real crime that had taken place. A young girl was raped and murdered and her attacker was up for parole. The blogger finds out about the parole and starts a petition to keep him in prison. This causes some interesting situations for Katy. She ends up in a serious situation and solves a cold case in the process. It was an easy read.


 

Laurie

May 04, 2016 Laurie rated it really liked it
It’s a good mix of seriousness, humor and romance for a murder mystery. I liked the characters, the seriousness of the issues presented: underage drinking, date rape, parole hearings, ethical decisions and how to do the right thing, young woman coping after a divorce, and family dynamics. Sounds heavy, but the quirkiness of the main character made it an enjoyable read.


 

Katie Mettner

Apr 29, 2016 Katie Mettner rated it it was amazing
I found this book to be very enjoyable, well-written and intriguing. While the subject matter is touchy, the fact is, these types of crimes happeneveryday, and everyday the people paying for those crimes are released from prison too early. I thought the author did a fantastic job of letting us get to knowKaty, while moving the story forward easily and swiftly. I’ve already bought Better Wed Than Dead and can’t wait to see what Katy gets herself into in this book. I already despise her was-bandChad, and hope he gets his in the next book.


Michele
Apr 20, 2016 Michele rated it it was amazing 
Excellent book
I completely enjoyed reading this, finding out it was based on theauthor’sreal life experience made it better. She gave each character a different personality and they were well put together. Thank


Suzan
Apr 18, 2016 Suzan rated it really liked it 
Shelves: kindle
Wow this book really covers topics that are hard to read. The author does a wonderful job of tackling this by her use of quirky characters. At first I had a hard time with her style but once I got into it I saw how she helped me to read the difficult subjects. She also does a great job of making Phil seem so real. Your nice boy next door who happens to do one really bad thing and all the consequences that result from his actions. Even how it affects those around him family friends. Wonderful book.


Yvonna
Apr 17, 2016 Yvonna rated it really liked it
Shelves: owned-bookskindlecozy-mysteryseries
A real page-turner. Given the subject matter, I thought the title was rather flippant. However, I found the book quite compelling. Katy and her family remind me of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and her family.


Laura
Apr 12, 2016 Laura rated it was amazing
Excellent book! A real page turner. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next to Katy. I bought the next book before I finished this one.


Jennifer Robb
Apr 10, 2016 Jennifer Robb rated it liked it
Recommends it for: mystery readers
Recommended to Jennifer by: Kindle

An interesting mystery that stemmed from areal life event for the author. The story is told mostly from Katy McKenna’s perspective, but there are some flashbacks to Phil Hobart’s perspective as well. Their lives don’t really intersect, but the inciting event is what ties the two stories together. I liked Katy’s dog, Daisy. Katy’s grandmother, Ruby, seems like a real feisty old lady and reminds me a bit of Janet Evanovich’s character Grandma Mazur.


Jennifer Jowsey
Mar 14, 2016 Jennifer Jowsey rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I won this book in a good reads giveaway. I thought from the title that it was going to be a fluffy, kind of goofy book. I also thought it’d be more computer-oriented, actual stuff about the blog. Katy is a bit of a goofy character, and she is technologically inept, but she’s likable and interesting. The flashbacks to the murder are a surprisingly brutal contrast: they’re detailed and very real feeling. It’s not a book I would recommend for a lot of people, being sensitive about any violence they may have had in their lives (again, this is more of the real, could-happen-to-anyone variety, that may hit a little too close to home for some people). It’s sad overall, if I think about it, the way lives are ruined and how some things unravel. But I was surprised to find that I liked her writing style (first book I’ve read by this author), and I immediately added the next book to my wishlist.


Tera Slawson
Dec 31, 2015  Tera Slawson rated it really liked it
This book really surprised me. I really didn’t expect it to creep me out the way it did! I expected a cozy little mystery and but I got a thrilling page-turner. Loved the main character and her quirkiness. Recommend to most.


Shirley Worley
Sep 20, 2015 Shirley Worley rated it really liked it 
After learning about a local murderer’s upcoming parole hearing, Katy takes on a campaign to stop his release. Although her petitions garner plenty of signatures and support, not everyone is happy about her efforts and her life comes under attack more than once. Her BFF believes Katy is stuck in an post-divorce rut and encourages Katy to blog about her daily events in an effort to move forward. Everyone, including Katy’s wacky grandma, tries to set her up with eligible bachelors, but Katy’s new neighbor proves to be what dreams are made of.

The two stories in Dead Girls Don’t Blog are like night and day, and yet have been woven together with great success. The one story covers a very difficult journey of the rape, kidnapping, and murder of a young high school student by three college students. It was heart-wrenching to read and a little more graphic than I had anticipated. But the characters were very well written, allowing the reader to see how easily one bad decision can snowball into a life-changing event. The three boys were so different; one rich and without conscience, another eager to please and gullible, and the third an Eagle Scout, studious, caring, and admirable. But in a drunken moment, the one bad apple spoiled the whole bunch and each had to suffer the consequences of their actions. Not only did they suffer for their deeds, but their families did as well.On the flip side, we read about Katy and her do-good intentions. This quirky gal, her friends, and her family provide the much needed balance to the book. She’s funny and easy to relate to. She drives an old car named Veronica, has bad hair days, and sometimes gets caught well into the afternoon still in her pajamas. I think there may be some romantic possibilities in her future :), hopefully with the ‘Viking’ next door. Who knows?

Ann
Feb 01, 2015 Ann rated it it was amazing 
I really enjoyed this book. It is a mystery that tackles a hard subject, but the author has included a delightfully quirky heroine and some humor that make it a really good read. The story line keeps your guessing from the first pages and kept me turning pages to see what could possibly happen next. I definitely look forward to reading more by this author.


Indiebrag
Mar 02, 2015 Indiebrag rated it was amazing 
Shelves: b-r-a-g-medallion-books
We are proud to announce that DEAD GIRLS DON’T BLOG by Pamela Frost Dennis is a B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!


 
Cassandra Drouillard

Aug 15, 2014 Cassandra Drouillard rated it really liked it  
Dead Girls Don’t Blog has a good balance between serious and quirky, a balance that becomes very important with the serious nature of the book. I do love that this book is based on real life perspectives and experiences, and I think that this strongly contributes to how the book turned out. I found that I could easily imagine myself in the shoes of Katy McKenna, although I don’t think her and I would always react the same. It was nice to find a book that managed to be both intelligent and funny …more
 

Sophia
Aug 08, 2014 Sophia rated it was amazing 
Enthralling
I’ll admit, I didn’t have much hope for this book when I first saw the cover. However, once I began reading it, I couldn’t put it down! The protagonist, Katy,
wasverylikeable but also believable in her adventures.Therewasenoughbackstory that you didn’t feel lost, and the author, Dennis, made sure to hold our interest with undeveloped characters, and subtle promises of more to come.I look forward to her next book in the series.


Jayne Wilson
Nov 21, 2015 Jayne Wilson rated it it was amazing  
Thank you to Pamela Frost Dennis for providing me with a free copy in return for an honest review.

Katy is trying to rebuild her career after a divorce when she finds a newspaper article about an upcoming parole hearing for the man who raped, kidnapped and murdered her friend, 16 years ago. She decides to start a petition against his release not realising that she may not be around to blog about it.The story goes between present day and 16 years previously and we learn a lot about the 3 young men that carried out the attack. Attimes I felt sorry for 2 of the young men. Katy is alikeable heroine and I loved her grandmother.Fantastic book that had me hooked from the first page.

J. Ewbank
Nov 30, 2015 J. Ewbank rated it really liked it
Shelves: mystery-thrillera-good-readromance
This is a good book by Palema Frost Dennis. The title didn’t give anything away so was not sure what I was getting into, but I got into good. It is a good mystery, and a good story with a heroine that is not supergirl but a real human. Enjoyed it because there was humor in the story, some good characters and a plot that ends, but only partially because there is much to complete in a next book. received it in Goodreads Giveaway and am happy that I did.J. RobertEwbank author “John Wesley, Natural …more


Blessednotlucky

Jun 10, 2015 Blessednotlucky rated it really liked it  
This author is local to me and she set her book in a fictional town based on a nearby city. I loved recognizing the places I’ve been around here. The book was really a surprise. Based on the title and cover, I thought it would be a lighthearted or ‘cozy’ type mystery and, indeed, the heroine was a plucky and likable person. But the flashbacks to the crime that occurred when she was a child were quite serious and brutal. In some ways, it was a jarring contrast and in other ways it was like the be …more


Rebekah
Nov 25, 2015 Rebekah rated it was amazing 
I am thrilled that I was able to receive this book through goodness. this book went beyond my expectations, normally I wouldn’t enjoy mystery novels but Pamela did a wonderful job writing her characters to be enjoyable and I cannot wait to read the next books in the series.


 

Julia Proud

May 10, 2015
Julia Proud rated it was amazing 

This was a very well written book. I enjoyed all points of view, including the point of view of the ‘criminal’, which is usually hard to pull off. At the risk of giving out spoilers I have to say I grew very attached to Phillip and the ending got me a little frustrated. But I guess it’s more a matter of personal opinion here.

The pacing was good and, especially towards the end, I looked for every excuse I could find to escape real life and jump back into the story.
I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a crime thriller with a dash of perky and quirky.


 

Ellen

Ellen rated it really liked it 
Dec 28, 2016
 
Pandora

Pandora rated it it was ok 
Dec 21, 2016
 
Jill Manzanarez

Jill Manzanarez rated it it was amazing 
Dec 08, 2016
 

Irene Squib

Irene Squib rated it really liked it 
Nov 18, 2016
 
Miriam Laracuente

Miriam Laracuente rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2016
 
Sandy

Sandy rated it liked it 
Oct 19, 2016

Sasha

Sasha rated it really liked it 
Oct 05, 2016



Audrey Pool

Audrey Pool rated it really liked it 
Sep 29, 2016


pat schellhorn

pat schellhorn rated it it was amazing 
Aug 21, 2016


Kerry

Kerry rated it really liked it 
Jul 24, 2016


Sarah A. Spitzer

Sarah A. Spitzer rated it really liked it 
Jul 24, 2016


Barb

Barb rated it really liked it 
Jul 16, 2016


Angie Crowder

Angie Crowder rated it really liked it 
Jul 15, 2016


Amanda

Amanda rated it really liked it 
Jul 14, 2016


Cindy

Cindy rated it really liked it 
Jul 09, 2016


Lois Ann

Lois Ann rated it really liked it 
Jul 05, 2016


patti mckown

patti mckown rated it it was amazing 
Jul 02, 2016


Margit Kidd

Margit Kidd rated it really liked it 
Jul 01, 2016


Karen Matthews garofalo

Karen Matthews garofalo rated it it was amazing 
Jun 26, 2016


Venus Rodney

Venus Rodney rated it it was amazing 
Jun 19, 2016


Karen

Karen rated it really liked it 
Jun 17, 2016


Montrell White

Montrell White rated it liked it 
Jun 17, 2016


Sharon

Sharon rated it liked it 
Jun 12, 2016


Nekita

Nekita rated it really liked it 
Jun 07, 2016


 Tracey Jones

Tracey Jones rated it it was amazing 
Jun 03, 2016


Nancy Sutphin

Nancy Sutphin rated it it was amazing 
May 31, 2016


Susan R. Egan

Susan R. Egan rated it really liked it 
May 31, 2016


Joan Anderson

Joan Anderson rated it really liked it 
May 30, 2016


Susan Carroll

Susan Carroll rated it it was amazing 
May 29, 2016


Crystal Johnson Johnso.

Crystal Johnson Johnso. rated it it was amazing 
May 29, 2016


Kay (Brigidsmomma) Compton

Kay (Brigidsmomma) Compton rated it it was amazing 
May 28, 2016


Jacqueline Lawrence

Jacqueline Lawrence rated it it was amazing 
May 27, 2016


Esther Fedele

Esther Fedele rated it did not like it 
May 26, 2016


Rhonda
Rhonda rated it really liked it 
May 25, 2016


Judy A Foster

Judy A Foster rated it it was amazing 
May 24, 2016


Denise L. Kuitunen

Denise L. Kuitunen rated it it was amazing 
May 24, 2016


Biff

Biff rated it liked it 
May 22, 2016


Susan C. Trickey

Susan C. Trickey rated it it was amazing 
May 20, 2016


Shaunie

Shaunie rated it really liked it 
May 20, 2016


Calvin Haynes

Calvin Haynes rated it it was amazing 
May 17, 2016


carol bordas

carol bordas rated it it was amazing 
May 16, 2016


Lauri J Owen

Lauri J Owen rated it it was amazing 
May 15, 2016


Kay

Kay rated it liked it 
May 14, 2016


Martha Mcneely

Martha Mcneely rated it it was amazing 
May 09, 2016


Nancy

Nancy rated it it was amazing 
May 04, 2016


 Nancy Cortez

Nancy Cortez rated it it was amazing 
May 03, 2016


Pamela K
Pamela K rated it really liked it
May 01, 2016


 Julie

Julie rated it really liked it 
Apr 30, 2016


Becky
Becky rated it really liked it 
Apr 29, 2016


Nancy

Nancy rated it it was amazing 
May 04, 2016


Margaret

Margaret rated it was amazing
Apr 17, 2016
 


Heidi

Heidi rated it liked it 
Apr 16, 2016


Jayne Baumann
Jayne Baumann rated it it was amazing
Apr 09, 2016


Sandie
Sandie rated it was amazing
Apr 08, 2016


regina myers
regina myersrated it it was amazing 
Apr 05, 2016


 

Brad

 

 

Brad rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2016


Jenaya
Jenaya rated it it was ok
Apr 07, 2016


Kelly
Kelly rated it it was amazing
Apr 09, 2016


Kate loves the American Bad Ass
Kate loves the American Bad Ass rated it it was amazing
Apr 10, 2016


Lauren
Lauren rated it liked it
Jan 11, 2016


Kristie Greeneltch
Kristie Greeneltch rated it it was amazing
Mar 14, 2016


Marissa
Marissa rated it really liked it
Apr 10, 2016


Deborah Kesner
Deborah Kesner rated it really liked it
Apr 10, 2016


Catherine Chilewski
Catherine Chilewski rated it it was amazing
Apr 08, 2016


Ron Frampton
Ron Frampton rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2016


Tracy Munro
Tracy Munro rated it liked it
Jun 16, 2014


 

Teresa Jo
Teresa Jo rated it was amazing
Dec 10, 2014


 

Michele
Michele rated it liked it
Apr 27, 2016


Stephanie
Stephanie rated it really liked it

Apr 26, 2016


Susan
Susan rated it really liked it
Apr 26, 2016


Teresa Grover
Teresa Grover rated it liked it 
Apr 25, 2016


Debbie
Debbie rated it liked it
Apr 20, 2016


 Sparethebs
Sparethebs rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2015


Jennie Fusco
Jennie Fusco rated it liked it ”
May 17, 2015


Sherry
Sherry rated it it was amazing
May 27, 2015


Janice Wells
Janice Wells rated it liked it
Mar 07, 2015


Danielle Higdon
Danielle Higdon rated it really liked it
Apr 26, 2015


Erica
Erica rated it it was amazing
Jul 13, 2015


Amy
Amy rated it liked it
Sep 28, 2015


mary stevens
mary stevens rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2015


Lori

Lori rated it it was ok 
Sep 08, 2015


Zjazjie
Zjazjie rated it really liked it
Sep 28, 2015


Karen Wright
Karen Wright rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2015


patricia m. casey
patricia m. casey rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2015


Ketta
Ketta rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2015


Kirsikka
Kirsikka rated it it was ok
Oct 27, 2015


Tami Phillippi
Tami Phillippi rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2015


Rosemary
Rosemary rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2015


Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2015


Nymphadora
Nymphadora rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2015


Kari
Kari rated it liked it
Nov 23, 2015


Briana R
Briana R rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2015


 

 


 


 




Better Dead Than Wed Reviews

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>